Skip to Content

Skip to Content

Home > Programs > KMSI > Courses

Courses

Victor Anderson 
Oberlin Alumni Professor of Christian Ethics 
Professor of African American Studies
Professor of Religious Studies
victor.anderson@vanderbilt.edu
  • Ethics in Theological Perspectives
  • Advanced Theological Ethics, Catholic Moral Theology
  • Theology and Ethics in America
  • Black Religion and Culture Studies I: 
  • Black Religion and Culture Studies II: Representation and Performance in Cultural Studies
  • Slave Religion
  • Methods in Ethics 
  • Political Ethics: The Tradition of Political Liberalism and the Priority of Democracy
  • Twentieth-Century North Atlantic Ethics: The Tradition of Theological Liberalism

Dennis C. Dickerson 
Professor of History
dennis.c.dickerson@vanderbilt.edu
  • Religion and the Civil RIghts Movement
  • 20th century African American Religious History
Forrest Harris 
Assistant Professor of Black Church Studies
forrest.e.harris@vanderbilt.edu
  • Theology and Ministry in the Black Church Tradition
  • Black Preaching 
  • Liberation and Spirituality
  • Black Religious Leadership
  • Race, Religion and Ethnicity in America
  • Race, Sexuality, Class, and Inequality

Juan Floyd-Thomas 
Associate Professor in the Field of Black Church Studies
j.floyd-thomas@vanderbilt.edu
  • Introduction to Black Church Studies
  • Religions of the African Diaspora
  • Critical Readings in Afro-American Religion
  • Race, Religion, and Protest Music
  • Moral Philosophy and Black Popular Culture
  • Black Religion in Context: Harlem
  • The Religious Thought of Howard Thurman
  • Cultural Significations and Black Religion

Stacey Floyd-Thomas 
Associate Professor of Ethics and Society
s.floyd-thomas@vanderbilt.edu
  • Womanist Literature as a Resource for Ethics
  • Womanist Theology and Ethics in Praxis
  • African American Social Ethics
  • Moral Philosophy and Black Popular Culture
Herbert Marbury 
Assistant Professor of Hebrew Bible
h.marbury@vanderbilt.edu
  • African American Biblical Hermeneutics
  • Hebrew Bible